Managing Shared Files and Folders in Drive

When you collaborate with multiple people on a file in your Google Drive, it can be hard to figure out who made a specific change and when they made it. Did you know you can keep track of these changes to any of your shared files? Plus, when things get messed up in a shared folder with A LOT of people, we can figure out what went wrong and when. Here is how:

See who’s viewed your file or who you’ve shared it with""

  1. In DocsSheets, or Slides, open the file.Note: You will need to have edit access for the file to see the Activity dashboard data.
  2. Click Toolsand thenActivity dashboard.
  3. You can see information about the activity on your file, including:
    • Shared with tab: Shows people you’ve shared the file with. You can also email collaborators.
    • All viewers (organization) tab: Shows people in your organization who have viewed the file.
    • Viewer trend tab: Shows a chart of viewers over time.
  4. (Optional) If you don’t want your view history to appear in Activity dashboard, click Privacy Settings and choose an option:
    • Turn off view history for all files: Under Account setting, turn off Show my view history for all DocsSheets and Slides files.
    • Turn off view history for one file: Under Document setting, turn off Show my view history for this document.
  5. Click Save.

See who commented, edited, moved, or shared a file""

  1. In Drive, at the top right, click View details "".
  2. The Activity tab is automatically selected and all the activity for My Drive is listed. For each activity, the details include:
    • The file or folder affected
    • The user that made the change
    • The date and time of the activity
    • Any other users affected by the activity
  3. In My Drive, select any item to see specific details.

See all changes to a file or revert to a previous version""

In Google Drive, open your file.From DocsSheets, or Slides, select Fileand thenVersion historyand thenSee version history.Note: You need Owner or Editor access to the file.Click a timestamp to see a previous version of the file. Below the timestamp, you’ll see:Names of people who edited the document.A color next to each person’s name. The edits they made appear in that color.(Optional) To revert, name, or copy a previous version, click:Restore this version to make it the active version.More""and thenName this version to name a previous version. More""and thenMake a copy to create a copy of a previous version.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s